How to get good clubs on a tight budget: Fix it edition

It is time to finish this series! Todays posts focuses on fixing up a diamond in the rough. When you are going through all of these places you can get some great deals on items because they are rusty or have some kind of mark on the club that people dont like.

When it comes to rust on a golf club I tend not to let it scare me. Saying that there are some situations that I wont touch. Browning on a club face is something that instantly disqualifies a club for me. I find it very ugly. It also reappears everytime you go out

140

I wouldnt buy this club at all unless it was $10 or less. I know some people will disagree and argue that the grooves are still good. I cant disagree with that. It still functions. It just shows me a club has been hit a bunch of times. When I see this damage I know I cant fix this. It means the chrome has worn out and the nickle plating underneath is gone as well.

Another type of  “damage” to a golf club is plain rust. This can make a golf club look a lot older than it actually is. These are my favorite items to buy. I recently bought one for $10 and sold it for $25 to the same shop. All it took was a little elbow grease. When I see a wedge look like this  picture I know I will be able to flip it if I can get it for a good price.

images

I think wedges look awesome in the bag this way. Like I said it can make a wedge look older than it is and affect its value. “Fixing” this wedge is a very simple process.

  1. Pour white vinegar into a piece of Tupperware high enough to cover the whole club
  2. Submerge the club head into the vinegar and let sit for 20 minutes
  3.  Grab a green Scotch-Brite
  4. Scrub the wedge down. Give it a little pressure. It wont scratch the wedge.
  5. Redip Scotch-Brite in vinegar to keep it wet.
  6. Scrub until all rust is gone
  7. Rinse with water
  8. Enjoy your new club

The club I mentioned earlier looked like this when I got it.

download (3)

I spent 10 minutes scrubbing and made $15. It is worth it. Plus it is kind of relaxing. Last time I did this I had a cigar,a glass of bourbon, and music playing. It was very nice.

Another thing you may see while shopping is a club with what we call a pop up mark on it. A pop up mark is also called a dummy mark. Because of that noone wants to play a club with it. The value plummets with that damage. This can allow you to grab good quality clubs for cheap. If you need to know what a pop up mark looks like here is an example.

download (4)

Now with a minor popup mark like that I will treat it like a ding on your car door. I will grab some car polish and buff the spot until the mark disappears. It also has the added benefit of making the club head look really good. There are types of pop up marks I wont touch because it is not very easy to fix. This ones are ones that go deep into the paint and leave a scratch.

download (5)

I have gotten clubs like this and have tried to repaint it. Honestly it isnt worth the trouble. If its a club you want to play and got a great deal you could always send it off to be refinished. Continental golf is a very popular choice. This of course comes with more costs and makes it maybe not as good of a deal.

One thing I have mentioned in previous posts but can really harp on here is buying clubs for components. Lets say I want a new driver. I will find a head I like. For example I want a SLDR 10 degree. I may find it but it will have a regular shaft in it. If the deal is good enough I will go ahead and buy that club. I know down the line i may be able to sell the regular flex. Now the nex time I go shopping I wont even look at the club heads. I will look down and look at the shafts. I do not care what it is attached to. I only care what the shaft is. Lets say I see a shaft I really like. It is attached to a Callaway Big Bertha. The shaft is worth $200 and they want $125 for the club.  I will buy the Big Bertha. Then I will go home and either make the switch my self or I will pay for someone else to do it for me. I will then sell the Big Bertha with the regular flex shaft that was in the SLDR and hopefully not lose anything on the deal. This has allowed me to get the driver of my dreams for less than it would be retail. That is shopping for components. I do this often. I have bought many clubs just for the shaft attached.

Another thing you will see in the used club section are clubs with big gouges in them. Any big gouges on a club disqualify a club for me. I can fix those but it involves a lot of tools and time and effort. I only grab those when I “need” a project.

I hope this series has taught you something. I want you to go out and find those hidden gems. I want you to fix clubs up and make your dream set. If you have any questions never hesitate to comment. I will do anything I can to help you out!

 

Leave a Reply

